From one Shetland to the other….

January 11, 2013 — Leave a comment

In the summer of 2012 we ran an expedition video workshop on board the National Geographic Explorer and made landfall in Lerwick, the main port in Scotland’s beautiful Shetland Islands. Today Cotton made it to South Shetland, literally the other end of the globe.

Cotton’s post

“On our first landing on Half-Moon Island of the South Shetland Islands, I chose to bring along the Genustech Variable ND filter to use with my Carl Zeiss 16-35mm to take stills with my Sony A99. It turns out to be a very nice package, allowing me to maintain shallow depth of field and still retain full aperture control. The black and white conversion was made using Nik Software’s plug-in for Apple Aperture called Silver Efex Pro using High-Structure. The motif was a chinstrap rookery on a very beautiful rock formation. Lucky for me, Sisse was there to take a nice shot of me working.”

   

Photo credit: Sisse Brimberg (on of me at the rookery) and Doug
Gualtieri for the close-up of me shooting with the Variable ND.

No Comments

Be the first to start the conversation!

Leave a Reply

