Using the MyMyk Audio Suite with an OSMO Gimbal Camera

March 22, 2016 — Leave a comment

“What microphone can I use with an OSMO gimbal camera?”….

I have been asked this question a few times in recent months so wanted to share a piece from our friends at their MyMyk blog.

mymyk osmo

Thanks for being a loyal MyMyk email subscriber. We appreciate hearing from you and
be sure to check into our Myklopedia page for hints and tips on capturing quality audio. Please contact us if you ever have any questions, our team will do their upmost to help you. If you have a contribution we would love to hear from you. Our products are being used in some very interesting ways about which we are always keen to learn.

Todays mail shot is inspired by one of our regular Myklopedia subscribers from Canada, who has been using SmartMyk and SmartLynk PLUS with the OSMO Gimbal camera. He has been using this combination for shooting Ice Hockey games. The OSMO camera is without a doubt a superb device for single shooters who need to capture action whilst on the move. Large steady rigs are either to cumbersome or inappropriate for the situation, especially at crowded events such as those at a sports stadium.
The answer is the OSMO, however, the OSMO has very basic audio features which are limited to one microphone input.  By integrating SmartMyk and SmartLynk PLUS into the rig, the combination of these MyMyk products and the OSMO camera transforms the whole system to a new level of performance. We thought you maybe interested to read Scotts posting that he sent to us over the weekend.

Dear MyMyk friends.
I have recently been using the SmartMyk & SmartLynk PLUS Combo Audio system with the OSMO camera for shooting Ice Hockey games. Unlike many other camera mounted microphones that I have tried, SmartMyk is a low profile design and does not encroach into the view of the lens when following the play. SmartLynk provides me with two microphone inputs and because SmartLynk has Plug & Power on the inputs I have been using the MyMyk SportsMyk,clipped to the peak of my cap with the mini boom effectively positioned near my mouth as my commentary mic.
For the setup, I plug SmartMyk into input 1 and the SportsMyk into input 2. I plug the mic output of SmartLynk into the mic input of the OSMO to record the action directly to the picture. I set SmartLynk to Split mode, recording my commentary separately from the action on the rink, which is now being recorded onto the OSMO by SmartMyk.
I record the commentary with SportsMyk using the MyMyk reporter APP, which is plugged into the SmartLynk APP output.  In the post production process I then edited and posted the commentry while keeping the audio from the action, intact.
It can be very noisy in the Ice Stadium, fortunately SmartLynk PLUS has a powerful headphone monitor amplifier making it easy to hear the audio and adjust the levels going to the camera and the APP. I mounted the system directly to the OSMO as shown, although I understand that it can be mounted separately on a pole or stand.
I have discovered that the mobile phone view monitoring option works well when hand held rather than being attached to the camera. The game moves very quickly and fortunately the wide camera angle on the OSMO ensures that I capture the action.  I can reference this by quickly checking on the phones screen.  I found mounting the MyMyk audio suite to the camera the best option to ensure it collects the sounds from the particular piece of action.
This is a very cool system and it all packs neatly into my pocket. If you have any comments on my set up I would really be glad to hear from you.
Scott Robbins – Montreal Canada

 

For more information on MyMyk’s range of products please go to their website www.mymyk.com

 

 

No Comments

Be the first to start the conversation!

Leave a Reply

